

AIA NEW YORK STATE, AN ORGANIZATION OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS, ANNOUNCES PROFESSIONAL SERVICE AWARDS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

AIA New York State announced five Professional Service Awards during their annual Excelsior & Professional Service Awards celebration on Thursday, May 9.

The AIANYS Excelsior Awards program showcases the best in publicly funded buildings and public art across New York State, along with the professionals who support and advocate for them. The Professional Service Awards honor excellence in practice and advocacy of design in New York State public architecture.

The Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award recognizes licensed architects employed in the public sector in New York State whose work on projects within their jurisdiction has furthered the cause of design excellence in public architecture.

Nelson Rockefeller devoted a significant portion of his life to public service, most notably serving as the 49th Governor of the State of New York.

This year's recipient is Robert Kanarkiewicz, RA, Retired Director of Design, State University Construction Fund.

"Bob's unwavering commitment to the Fund's mission drove significant positive changes, enhancing operations, project quality, and the Fund's reputation. With a passion for balancing design excellence and public stewardship, he advocated for improving SUNY campuses. His integrity in upholding high-quality standards in the capital program reflects his professionalism."

The Henry Hobson Richardson Award recognizes AIA members licensed in NYS and practicing in the private sector who have made a significant contribution to the quality of NYS public architecture and who have established a portfolio of accomplishments to that end.

One of the founding fathers of American architecture, Henry Hobson Richardson designed many significant public buildings in New York State and the United States.

CONTACT

Robin Styles-Lopez Director of Communications (518) 449 3334 rstyles-lopez@aianys.org twitter.com/@AIANewYorkState

The American Institute of Architects

AIA New York State 50 State Street 5th Floor Albany, NY 12207

(518) 449 3334

aianys.org

The first recipient is Allen Swerdlowe, FAIA, d7architects, Fulbright Foundation Specialist.

"A dedicated advocate for public spaces, Allen has spent four decades shaping New York's landscape for the public good. From revitalizing Brooklyn's waterfront to advocating for innovative transportation solutions, his contributions have left an indelible mark. As a Fulbright Specialist, he shares his expertise globally, while locally, he continues to champion transformative projects, including a visionary solution for Penn Station. Swerdlowe's legacy echoes the collaborative spirit of urban visionaries like Richardson and Olmsted."

The second recipient is David Miles Ziskind, FAIA, Senior Vice President, and Architecture Chief, STV

"David's architecture goes beyond function and budget, fostering immersive experiences that affirm humanity and dignity. From schools to hospitals and detention centers, his designs prioritize safety, serenity, and natural light, enabling people to thrive. He champions inclusivity, ensuring every voice is heard. Known for integrity and mentorship, David's portfolio includes transformative projects at West Point and NYC schools, shaping communities and setting new standards in healthcare and corrections."

The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award recognizes public officials or individuals who, through their efforts, have furthered the public's awareness or appreciation of design excellence in public architecture.

One of the founding fathers of American architecture, Henry Hobson Richardsonian designed many significant public buildings in New York State and the United States.

The first recipient is Karen L. King, PhD., Commissioner of Public Advocacy for Erie County.

"Dr. King embodies leadership in public advocacy. As Erie County's Commissioner of Public Advocacy, she champions women, minorities, and marginalized groups. Notably, she spearheads the Trailblazing Women of Western New York Monument Project, honoring influential women. King's commitment extends to The Tribute Garden, commemorating victims of domestic violence. Her dedication to equality and social justice reshapes public spaces, inspiring collective action, and reflection." The second recipient is Markus Kessler, Director of Facilities Planning, SUNY College at Fredonia.

"As Director of Facilities Planning at Fredonia, Markus embodies professionalism and expertise as the de-facto Campus Architect. Collaborating on numerous renovations and constructions, including sensitive interventions to I.M. Pei and Henry Cobb's historic work, Markus showcases a profound understanding of higher education planning and architectural nuances. His leadership and genuine commitment to public architecture underscore his invaluable contributions to Fredonia and the State University of New York."

About AIANYS:

The American Institute of Architects New York State, composed of 13 statewide chapters representing over 9,500 architecture professionals, is dedicated to recognizing and celebrating excellence in architecture, advocating for the profession, and fostering a community of architects committed to advancing the built environment.